Samuel McLeod Business AwardsThe Samuel McLeod Business Awards (SMBA) will be celebrated on February 25, 2021 at the E.A. Rawlinson Centre on the stage. Strictly following all the guidelines of COVID, there will be up to 30 people on the stage.

Normally there are about 300 people in attendance at this event, however this year, like our businesses, we must adapt.  As there are 30 finalists, each has been contacted and asked if they wish to be part of the live audience, or have their acceptance speech pre-recorded. If the recipient of the category is on the stage, they will give a live acceptance speech and if it’s pre-recorded that will be played.

The SMBA sponsors are amazing as each has stood by their commitment for sponsorship. Because of their continued support, the Chamber is able to air the show live through its YouTube Channel starting at 7:00 p.m on Thursday, February 25, 2021 at no cost to anyone. 

“Chatting with each of the sponsors and finalists, many of us acknowledged that nothing is like it was, but on the other hand, many of us have had the opportunity to try something new in our businesses,” says Chamber CEO Elise Hildebrandt. “Nowhere in my job description did it say the SMBA would one day be Prince Albert version of the Grammy’s. We are so thankful to our business community and sponsors for working with us on this signature event.”

The 2020 SMBA award finalists are as follows: 

Business Transformation Award- Sponsored by Ministry of Trade and Export Development

  • Gem Denture Clinic Inc.
  • Killarney Kastle
  • Pine Industries Marketing Ltd/Sarcan

Community Involvement- Sponsored by Sasktel 

  • Prince Albert Winter Festival
  • Uniglass Plus Ziebart
  • Lake Country Co-op

Customer Service Award- Sponsored by RBC

  • Candle Lake Resort
  • Carlton Trail Hearing Clinic
  • G & P Plumbing & Heating Inc.

Female Business Leader of the Year- Sponsored by Northern Lights Casino (SIGA)

  • Carol Gregoryk – Saskatchewan Health Authority
  • Mona Selanders – Coronet
  • Shelley Gordon – 6th Ave Carwash & Uniglass Plus Ziebart

Male Business Leader of the Year Sponsored by TD Bank 

  • Fred Matheson – Ted Matheson’s Men’s Wear
  • Jim Southam – Prairie Cannabis
  • Joe Weinrich—Riverside Dodge

Marketing- Sponsored by Loraas 

  • Candle Lake Golf Resort
  • A. Rawlinson Centre of the Arts
  • Prince Albert Winter Festival

New Venture- Sponsored by Conexus Credit Union 

  • Lake Country Co-op Wine, Spirts & Beer
  • P. A. Wand Wash
  • Prairie Cannabis

Non-Profit Organization Award- Sponsored by Affinity Credit Union. 

  • Hope’s Home
  • Prince Albert Kinsmen Club
  • Prince Albert Indian Metis Friendship Centre

Young Entrepreneur  Sponsored by Community Futures. 

  • Brock Walters & Cody Walker — Prairie Brothers Construction Ltd.
  • Cody Demerais — Limitless Gear
  • Jeremia Corrigal – Underground Performance Ltd.

Business of the Year- Sponsored by Diamond North Credit Union 

  • G & P Plumbing & Heating Inc.
  • Lakeland Ford
  • Lehner Electric

The SMBA is produced by the Prince Albert & District Chamber of Commerce and presented by Sask Polytechnic. The awards celebrate the exceptional businesses growing and operating within the Prince Albert District. Finalists announced include:  Business of the Year, Business Transformation, Community Involvement, Customer Service, Female Business Leader of the Year, Male Business Leader of the Year, Marketing, New Venture, Non-Profit of the Year, Young Entrepreneur of the Year.  All applications are forwarded to our Prince Albert Office for initial sorting and processing. Applications from each of the categories are then delivered to independent and anonymous judges.