Legacy Award

Presented by:

Legacy Award Recipient criteria:

  • A long-time pioneer business person.
  • A member of the business community who was responsible for a major development in the city and who may not qualify for an award within the existing categories.
  • A member of government, or agent of government at the civic or provincial or federal level who was singularly or primarily responsible for a major development in the city of Prince Albert or any nomination that is approved unanimously by the organizing committee.

Janine Favreau recognized with 2020 Legacy Award

Janine Favreau - Legacy Award winner Prince Albert Chamber of Commerce

Janine Favreau, owner of Nutters Everyday Naturals, opened the Nutters Prince Albert franchise in 1984 during a blinding October blizzard. Her store was one of the first wave of Nutters franchisees. Favreau is the company’s longest-serving franchisee, holding a place in the Nutters history books.

Like many in her industry, Janine didn’t begin her career with a goal of becoming a natural health retailer. However, her early choices helped lay a foundation for her future as a store owner.

Prince Albert born and raised, she obtained a teaching certificate from the University of Saskatchewan, and then entered the financial world, accepting a position with the Royal Bank of Canada.

Janine’s husband Ron inspired her to become a natural health retailer.  Since then, Janine has become the trusted face of the industry in Prince Albert. Advertorials in local newspapers and new media have regularly informed residents about her products.

​Several members of Janine’s staff have been with her for almost 20 years. Customer focused, Janine tells every new staff member, ‘We are a destination…people come here for a reason. So we serve them to the best of our ability.

Dedication to the residents of Prince Albert & Area has nurtured a loyal customer base who appreciate the beneficial knowledge and product service provided at Nutter’s Prince Albert.

Janine recently undertook an extensive expansion of her store with widened aisles and increased product offerings, resulting in an even better customer experience.
In 2014, Janine was honored as the inaugural recipient of the Samuel McLeod Business Award for Prince Albert’s Female Business Leader of the Year.

Previous Recipients of the Legacy Award

2019.    Roses Stewart
2017     Wayne Hansen
2016     Ron & Shelley Horn and Family
2015     Frank Dunn​
​2014     Gene Kapacila
2013     Maria Yannacoulias
2012     Leo Fontaine
2011     Roger Mann
2010     Malcolm Jenkins
2009     Rod Postle
2008     Barry & Donna Dutchak
2007     Ed Dmyterko
2006     Herschel Davidner
2005     Ed Tash
2004     Wayne Pearson
2003     The Gray Family
2002     Vic Lemieux
2001     The Jones Family
2000     The Thompson Family
1999     Ab Pellegrini
1998     Art Hauser
1997     Jack Matheson
1996     Harold Guy
1995     Robert J. Casey
1994     Steve Ruznisky
1993     Les, George & Jim Thorpe
1992     Alex Aaron
1991     Floyd Glass